Stress Eating

For some reason, when I am stressed I tend to crave (and therefore eat) carbs. As this week is looking more and more hectic, crazy, and stressful I turned to my food BFF (GoLean, duh). After throwing down two bowls, I decided to divert my crazy craving into something a little more figure friendly- spaghetti squash.

I love spaghetti squash for a lot of reasons. First of all, it has great nutritional stats: only 42 calories in one cooked cup (which is especially great if you just ate two bowls of cereal in ten minutes) and .4 grams of fat! It’s microwave friendly. And it comes with a relatively cheap (3-4 dollars) price tag.

The only downside: it is a pain to cut!! A sharp knife is absolutely essential, a machete might be preferable.

Directions:

Cut the squash in half long-ways (by whatever means necessary)

Scoop out the seeds, which you can save and roast just like pumpkin seeds!!

[Microwave option- place half of the sqaush face down and microwave for 12-15 minutes, or until the flesh is tender when you poke it with a knife. Let it sit for a few minutes after cooking. ]

Preheat oven to 350. Place squash face down on a lightly greased pan and cook for 35-40 minutes, until the flesh is tender when you poke it with a knife.

What I did for those 35-40 minutes: pretend to write my philosophy paper

study

note the empty cereal bowl on my desk

After the squash comes out of the oven it will be super hot, so wait a few minutes before noodling it.

noodling

With a fork, scrape along the edges to release the strands of squash.

I doused mine with tomato sauce, roasted red peppers, and a generous crumble of feta. If I had more time, sauteing some shrimp would have been an excellent protein addition- lucky for me, GoLean has 9 grams of protein per serving 😉

yay for turning stress food cravings into smart food choices!

Do you have a go-to stress food?

4 comments on “Stress Eating

  1. lisapelehach says:

    I love spaghetti squash too! My aunt taught me that to make cutting it (somewhat) easier, you can just pop it in the microwave for 1-2 minutes beforehand and it’ll soften it up enough to make cutting slightly more bearable!

  2. chelsea b says:

    Haha. On Monday I got an insatiable carve craving that could only be cured by a trip to Outback for stake and an entire loaf of pumpernikle bread. Too bad I didn’t know about pumpkin squash lol

  3. […] I ate my sauce over a bowl of spaghetti squash. Don’t know what spaghetti squash is? It is a neat little yellow squash. When you bake it, the pulp strings up like spaghetti noodles! For more details on how to make spaghetti squash, check out Erin’s post. […]

Leave a Reply

