Five Minute Black Bean Soup

Happy Friday!!

This week has been kind of crazy for me, and it has made me realized that I really need to work on saying “no” sometimes.  I tend to agree to waaayyy more responsibilities than I can actually handle. Anyway all of these seemingly little tasks have built up and basically exploded in my face this week. Needless to say, I am NOT going out tonight. I scheduled a much needed date. With my bed.

We have not had much quality time this week.

Thursday night, the last thing on my mind was trying to actually cook something. I wanted something super quick, hearty, and warm. I have experimented with this recipe for a bit, and I think its time to share it with you all 🙂

I love Trader Joe’s boxed “Latin Style” black bean soup. The other day I was craving some-but had already eaten it all, a usual situation in my apartment. I ended up creating this equally delicious and fast version-prep time included it takes way less than five minutes! It is creamy without cream (or any dairy for that matter) and the medium salsa adds just the perfect amount of heat for me. Now what to do with the rest of black beans in the can…maybe some microwave sweet potato chili?

Creamy Black Bean Soup 

2/3 cup canned black beans

3 tbsp medium salsa

1/4 cup water (or vegetable stock)

Put all the ingredients in your magic bullet/blender.

Ready to be mixed

Blend for 10-20 seconds. Microwave for 1.5 minutes.

Post-picture I topped it with some cheese!

Have a great weekend 🙂

One comment on “Five Minute Black Bean Soup

  1. Hi there, just became aware of your blog by way of Google, and discovered that it’s really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate in case you continue this in future. Numerous people is going to be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

