Protein French Toast

I hope this week is treating you well! I had a great double workout day yesterday with cycle and a lifting class. It was kind of a pain to shower twice in one day, but I enjoyed both classes. I am missing cycle tonight, but will hopefully go on Thursday evening.

Today I completed the second day of Week 2 of the Push Up Challenge. It was tough! The workout included sets of 14, 16, 12, 12, and a max of 19, with one minute breaks in between. I will write a more detailed update after Sunday when I do another test of my push up max.

I want to share one of my favorite weekend recipes with you all, Protein French toast. I do not eat bread often, but on the weekends when I have some extra time I enjoy some french toast to get me out of my oatmeal rut. I like that it boasts a crunchy exterior, and a bit of built in sweetness from the protein powder. I have tried this recipe with Sun Warrior, but it turned out too thick for dipping the bread.

The scoop size for protein powders can vary from 1 1/2 Tbsp to 3 Tbsp, so I used a tablespoon measurement to make it uniform. Depending on the specific powder you use, a tablespoon should provide a decent 10-15 grams of protein.

Protein French Toast

Ingredients:

1 slice of whole wheat bread

1 tbsp whey protein

1 tbsp egg whites

2 tbsp almond milk

dash of pumpkin spice

Mix the egg whites, milk, and spice together. Add the protein powder and stir well, although there will probably still be some clumps.

Dip the bread into the mixture, make sure both sides are fully coated. Cook on a heated frying pan with a little bit of oil spray. Cook for 2-3 minutes each side.

I topped my with defrosted blueberries in their own juice and greek yogurt. yum 🙂

2 comments on “Protein French Toast

  1. […] of my other favorite breakfast foods are Easy Eggs, Protein French Toast, and any of my smoothies! Share this:TwitterFacebook This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged […]

Leave a Reply

