Valentine’s Day recap and Mashed Cauliflower

I forgot to talk about what Perry and I ended up doing for Valentine’s Day, since I just did a picture post. First of all, I was surprised by a mid-morning visitor bearing roses ūüôā

Any guesses on who that handsome man was?

Conflicting schedules limited the visit to about 30 minutes, but it was a great way to start my day!

I had lunch with Kath, and then headed over to cycle. I think I have perfected my pre-workout meal now! I used to just eat my normal lunch with a salad, greek yogurt, fruit, and some nuts or other randomness. But I would feel sluggish about halfway through class and be counting down the minutes until I could get off the bike. After reading this article, I changed up my pre-workout food. For the past couple of weeks, I have been fueling up with an almond butter sandwich on wheat bread with a banana. I also sip on 24 oz of green tea until about an half an hour before the class. The caffeine does wonders for my energy levels. I know caffeine has dehydrating effects, but I feel that during my 45 minute class I am not really at risk for dehydration. After class I barely made it through one round of Simply Abs. I did each exercise for 50 seconds with a 10 second break and it killed me!

I did some work and got ready to go out with Perry to see Alvin Ailey at UNC’s Memorial Hall. Ailey is one of my most favorite dance companies. Their style is an¬†extraordinary¬†mix of ballet and jazz, with African influences. All of the dances were incredible, but my favorites included their signature piece “Revelations”.

 source

source 

Yesterday I also made mashed cauliflower for the first time. I looked at several recipes before deciding to make my own. I think its a great¬†substitution¬†for mashed white potatoes; the texture is definitely much lighter, but the flavors are the same. I may or may not have eaten the whole container by myself…

 

Mashed Cauliflower

8 oz frozen cauliflower

2 Tbsp plain greek yogurt

1 Tbsp butter

1 Tsp Italian Herb Blend (with Thyme and Oregano)

Defrost the cauliflower in the microwave. Add the butter and microwave until it melts. Put the cauliflower and butter in your food processor with the greek yogurt. Blend until it reaches a smooth consistency. Flavor with Italian seasoning and salt.

2 comments on “Valentine’s Day recap and Mashed Cauliflower

  1. kacline says:

    your roses are beautiful! And I think the cauliflower looks to die for. I will have to whip up a batch sometime soon. Also, I am preparing some sort of protein brownie today—get ready for chocolate treats tomorrow at lunch ūüôā

  2. […] of eggs involved, because I need to get through a dozen this week. I will definitely be feasting on mashed¬†cauliflower-one of my fav easy freezer […]

Leave a Reply

