Thirsty Thursday: Tropical Green Smoothie

Yay we made it to Thursday!

This week was not too busy, but I always look forward to the weekend. 🙂

Yesterday I completed the first of my two scheduled runs of the week

The weather was quite warm, which made the experience a lot more enjoyable. It has been a while since I have run, so it took a while to get back into the groove. The fact that the first .5 miles of my route is a HUGE hill did not help my confidence. Chapel Hill is aptly named to say the least. I my mantra throughout the whole thing was alternately “you just have to make it up this hill” and “just one more big hill to go”. Lying to myself actually helped me a lot 😉 In the end, it wasn’t nearly as bad as I had imagined.

To reward myself for hitting the road, I feasted on this tropical deliciousness:

Tropical Green Smoothie                                  

1 frozen banana

1/2 cup frozen mango and pineapple

1/2 cup of orange juice

1/2 cup water

2 handfuls of spinach

1 scoop protein powder

Blend up and enjoy. If you are not worried about sugar count, go ahead and use a whole cup of orange juice instead of just half.

5 comments on “Thirsty Thursday: Tropical Green Smoothie

  1. […] favorites include: sweet potato, tropical green, and PB & J. It’s my hope that these recipes bring a little fun variety to your smoothies […]

  2. michael says:

    How do you like your magic bullet for making smoothies?

    • recimplicity says:

      I love the bullet for smoothies! It is the perfect size and really easy to clean. However I would like something a little bigger and more powerful for thicker blends like hummus.

  3. […] desserts with tofu and chickpeas, baked delicious granola with quinoa, and even added carrots and spinach to my smoothies. So when I came across a recipe for cauliflower pizza dough I was intrigued, and saved the link for […]

  4. […] ideas that are packed with protein. Some of my favorites include egg muffins, protein pancakes and smoothies. Despite these great ideas, I usually end up eating oatmeal several times a week because of its […]

Leave a Reply

