Whole Foods Haul

For Christmas my aunt and uncle gave me a gift card to Whole Foods. I have been saving it for a while, and decided to use it on foods to help me get through the next two weeks before spring break so I would not have to spend my money on groceries. I also wanted to pick up a few things that I would not be able to find at a “normal” grocery  store, such as the kombucha (which I am totally obsessed with-if you don’t believe than just keep on reading ;)) and ginger green tea.

Here is what I ended up with:

Oikos 0% Plain Greek Yogurt

Almonds

Green Ginger Tazo Tea

Decaf (only because they did not have regular :/) Celestial Seaonsing Chai Tea

1 can of Cannelini Beans

1 red onion

baby spring mix

two cartons of cherry tomatoes

1 bunch of celery

2 bottles of Kombucha (cranberry and mango)

I forgot to get Almond butter!! arrgghh This is why I cannot function without the many lists that remind me important things. I am quite sad about it, but I guess I can stick out the peanut butter for the next 14 days.

I will probably use the cannelini beans, cherry tomatoes, and red onion for a tuna salad some time this week. But what I really want to talk about is the Kombucha.

source

Kombucha is fermented tea with an effervescent texture. To me, it is most similar to sparkling grape juice. Both of the bottles I bought were also flavored with fruit juice, which minimized the vinegary smell common in pure kombucha. Since the tea is fermented with live cultures, it contains significant amounts of probiotics as well as antioxidants and other organic acids.

The biggest downside to kombucha is the price tag-averaging around $3.50 for a 160z bottle :/

…which is why I am thinking about making my own. I read a bit about the process and it seems pretty simple once you get the kombucha “mother,” which is the live culture. In order to make the mother, the process seems similar to yogurt.  I think that I could just buy a 100% kombucha drink and then use it to make my own active culture. Of course, the easiest way to make kombucha is to take a piece of someone else’s kombucha culture, but I am almost positive I do not know anyone currently cultivating kombucha (if I am wrong, please let me know!! lol)

Have you ever tried to make Kombucha before? Or anything else with a live culture, like yogurt?

4 comments on “Whole Foods Haul

  1. kacline says:

    ah you have finally joined the kombucha club 🙂 isn’t it so neat and refreshing?! My fav by far is Trilogy—and they are only $2.99 at SuperTarget!

  2. recimplicity says:

    Yeah, I have to admit that you peer pressured me 😉 and I am a happier person for it. I also have a new favorite thing to search on the internet.

    Mother Kombucha here I come!

  3. […] Batch #2 of Kombucha has been succesfully made! I totally freaked out the first time I touched my SCOBY, but this past […]

  4. […] you have no idea what I am talking about, you might want to read this post about […]

Leave a Reply

