Being a Morning Person

The past week I have been getting up around 7, and am really enjoying the extra time in the morning to get a little work done. I am definitely a morning person. There is something so refreshing about starting a new day, and I look forward to mornings.

Also I am basically physically incapable of taking naps. Whenever I am totally exhausted and have a napping window, I tend to just lay in bed for 30-45 minutes with various lists and thoughts racing through my mind until I get annoyed by the fact that I am wasting time trying to sleep.

In previous college years, when I was super stressed about school work and thought of my grades as a life or death situation (so, basically every year but this one ;)), I would maximize my love of mornings by having it twice. How exactly? I would go to bed early (at like 9) and then wake up at 3 or 4 in the morning. I would feel refreshed and motivated enough to do work for a couple hours. Then I would go back to sleep for a couple more hours. My second morning would be whenever I woke up for class. Looking back on it, I guess it seems pretty strange but oh the crazy things I do for a little extra productivity!

Today I got an early start to the day at 6:30. I made a quick two egg spinach omelet (with no cheese or garlic, so it was not really flavorful)

I was pretty impressed with myself because I had the forethought not to overstuff this omelet like I usually do, so I could actually close it!

Omelet and coffee

After my power breakfast, I got to work on my thesis! My rough draft is due the 15th, so I am just starting to stress about it. I know what I want to say, but it’s just a matter of putting all down in a coherent fashion.

No workout this morning, although it is a gorgeous day for a run. I will probably try and sneak in a cycle class tonight in between studying for my midterm tomorrow-SOO ready for spring break!

Are you a morning person? How do you maximize your productivity?

 

Leave a Reply

