Me and My Key

Today was too beautiful to spend my workout in the gym’s dark cycling room. So I decided to go on a run for the first time in like 6 weeks (which is really embarrassing actually). I fueled up with sweet potato oatmeal topped with Greek yogurt and chia seeds.

And then got outside! I decided to add another mile to my normal three mile loop, so I would have more time to enjoy the weather.

I am a pretty minimalist runner (if you can call someone whose last run was almost 2 months ago a runner). I prefer to run without my iPod, water, or even watch. Since I am not training for an event or trying to get my time down, being completely unencumbered allows me to fully enjoy the movement and my surroundings. One thing that I do have to bring with me on every run is my house key. My friend Anika taught me this neat idea for storing your key while on a run.

A large safety pin+house key

Pinned to the inside of my shorts

I use this method to store my key if I am not wearing one of my running shorts that have a key pocket already built in.

I never thought I would say this, but running is my time for mediation of sorts. For so much of my life I am listening, watching or just surrounded by noise and images. On my runs I just listen to my feet hitting the pavement and my breath. It helps that I generally have a random song stuck in my head that I will sing to myself for parts of the run (today was “Drive By” by Train). I am lucky to live near such a naturally gorgeous campus that I can enjoy the scenery passing by without getting bored.

I love being outside and enjoying some time sans technology.

Just me.

and my key.

Ok, enough being sappy 🙂

Lunch included a delicious wrap, with my favorite hummus, chopped red pepper, cucumber, and chicken.

I always overestimate how much can fit into a wrap and have to eat some of the insides before I can roll everything up

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!

Do you have any exciting plans?

2 comments on “Me and My Key

  1. […] effort to incorporate running more into my life now that spring is here. As I have mentioned before, I am a fair weather runner and have never run on a treadmill. For me the enjoyment from running […]

  2. […] Often when I run, the second mile is the hardest. It doesn’t matter how long I am planning on running. It could be 3 miles or 5, but the second mile is ALWAYS the one during which I want to quit. After I make it through the second mile, I usually fall into my pace and really enjoy running. […]

Leave a Reply

