Return of the Smoothies

After a little hiatus my crazy smoothie recipes have returned!

Previous favorites include: sweet potato, tropical green, and PB & J. It’s my hope that these recipes bring a little fun variety to your smoothies in contrast to the more mainstream banana, berry, and chocolate smoothies. I love trying new flavor combinations, and smoothies are a great way to experiment without spending a lot of time in the kitchen.

Today’s recipe was inspired by a conversation with one of best friends, Anika/twin. We danced together all through middle and high school, and loved taking random photos of everything. At the studio, we were famous for saying “can you take a picture of me and my Twin?.” She graduated from UNC a couple years before me, but we have maintained in contact through regular skype dates.

Photo collage of our unabashed silliness through the years:

Anyway, my twin has a gift for combining color, style, and flavors that make an impact. Last week I was discussing my desire to use ginger in a smoothie, and she suggested carrot juice. The idea took some mulling over, but I liked the idea of putting another vegetable in a smoothie. The result is a subtly sweet, smooth, creamy drink with a bite of ginger. Perfect for a spring day!

Carrot Ginger Smoothie

1 cup pure carrot juice

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

1 frozen banana

1 tsp grated fresh ginger

Add all of the ingredients to your blender for a 30 second whirl and enjoy!

7 comments on “Return of the Smoothies

  1. kacline says:

    such pretty pics…and mason jars 🙂

  2. Anika Shana Patel says:

    Can’t wait to try it out 🙂 and so glad I could be of help! ❤ the photo montage and cannot wait to build on our 'mature' picture collection next week!

  3. Ari says:

    Your photos look great!

  4. […] made chocolately desserts with tofu and chickpeas, baked delicious granola with quinoa, and even added carrots and spinach to my smoothies. So when I came across a recipe for cauliflower pizza dough I was […]

  5. Recimplicity says:

    […] my favorite fruit and vegetable-based summer recipes. To start off my day, I love a fresh and spicy Carrot Ginger Smoothie. It is creamy and smooth with a kick of ginger. Sometimes I add my favorite Whole Foods brand Whey […]

  6. […] smoothies instead of water. I love my caffeine in the mornings! On my blog I have recipes for this carrot ginger flavor, along with key lime pie and peanut butter and […]

Leave a Reply

