The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes

So yesterday I made the decision to start Julie’s book club choice of the month, The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes. I had been putting off reading the book for a while because of my school workload, but since I did not have class until 5pm I decided yesterday would be a great day to read!

And read I did.

For basically the entire day.

I did manage to put it down and go to class, although I still hadn’t showered (priorities, people!). After I finished around 8pm, I completed a flurry of work and went to the gym.

In my defense, it was an awesome book and the plot sucked me into the drama, suspense, romance, and heartbreak of the characters lives. So while everything was still fresh in my mind, I decided to write and publish my review a little early.

Review: The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes by Diane Chamberlain

source

As I mentioned above, this book was difficult to put down. So I just caved and read it in one day (yay for having a life in which I can literally just ignore all other responsibilities for 8 hours). After completing it, I tried to distinguish what exactly spurred me to keep reading, and I came to the conclusion that the suspense and character development kept me turning the page(s). The intriguing beginning left me waiting the whole book for something terrible to happen, and I came to appreciate or at least learn more about the dynamic characters.

I appreciated that Chamberlain was able to cover 25ish years in the book without causing me to feel left out of certain aspects of a character’s growth. She made it easy to sympathize with CeeCee, and fully explored the depth of emotions that CeeCee experienced when making difficult life decisions. I thought all of the characters were very well developed; however, I was not fully convinced of Corinne’s development of numerous phobias. I felt they were that their inception could have been better explained through anecdotes during her childhood. Another than that, I thought the characters were well rounded and I sympathized with all of them in their various difficult circumstances.

The fact that some of the scenes took place in Chapel Hill and on Franklin St. added to the appeal for me. I loved being able to picture exactly where CeeCee and Tim met during the beginning of the book. In my head, she worked at Ye Olde Waffle Shoppe, I don’t really know why but that’s just the restaurant I thought of from the book’s description.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it. I felt like it has a broad appeal and touched on so many issues of relationships and family dynamics that I could relate to even without being a mother.

____________

And now back to real life.

This morning I enjoyed a banana breakfast bowl with oats, cooked quinoa, sliced banana, and a spoonful of peanut butter.

 

 

I have a great granola recipe for you all tomorrow with a secret ingredient: quinoa (ok, not so secret anymore).

Happy Wednesday 🙂

5 comments on “The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes

  1. I love books that suck you in like that… even if it does mean you are useless for other priorities in life. 🙂 Sounds like a great read!

  2. recimplicity says:

    Yeah, it was a fun book! I recommend starting it on a Friday night though…

  3. I love how every person who has read this book – including myself – finished it within a day because it was full of suspense! Cory’s phobias bothered me a bit, too, but I think they must be somehow related to her hurried birth (or CeeCee’s interpretation of the event) because she was fearful and timid even as a baby and toddler.

Leave a Reply

