Quinoa Granola

This is one of my new all time favorite granola recipes! I love it on greek yogurt, in almond milk, or straight out of the bag. The quinoa and puffed wheat combine for a crunchy but light texture, and it clumps easily. The maple syrup adds a warm flavor and perfect sweetness for me. I also love that the quinoa adds a bit of protein to the granola.

Quinoa Granola

Inspired by Hungry Hungry Hippie’s Quinoa Granola

Makes about 6 cups

Ingredients:

1 ½ cups rolled oats

2 cups puffed wheat

½ cup uncooked quinoa

1 cup slivered almonds

½ cup sweetened coconut flakes

1 tsp cinnamon

½ cup coconut oil (canola would work too)

½ cup maple syrup

½  Tbsp vanilla

1  cup cranberries

Directions: Preheat oven to 225. Mix together the first six ingredients (oats to cinnamon). Microwave the coconut oil until the oil is liquid and mix with maple syrup and vanilla. Pour the liquids over the dry ingredients and gently combine. Spread mixture over two cookie sheets lined with parchment paper. Bake for 60 minutes and enjoy the amazing aromas that will pervade your kitchen. Take it out and let the granola cool. Break apart the sheets of granola goodness by lifting up the sides of the parchment paper. Mix in the cranberries. Store in an airtight container for up to three weeks (but really, who doesn’t eat 6 cups of granola in a week?…hopefully I’m not alone in this ;))

8 comments on “Quinoa Granola

  1. What an interesting idea – I like.

  2. This looks really good & easy to make. I like the idea of using coconut oil!

  3. […] which inspired me to make this granola. Also cranberries are my favorite fruit, which is kind of sad because they are one of the few […]

  4. Oh I love the idea of adding quinoa to granola! Definitely going to try this next time I make some =)

  5. Eftychia says:

    This recipe sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing.

  6. […] which inspired me to make this granola. Also cranberries are my favorite fruit, which is kind of sad […]

  7. […] I have started brewing my own kombucha, made chocolately desserts with tofu and chickpeas, baked delicious granola with quinoa, and even added carrots and spinach to my smoothies. So when I came across a recipe for cauliflower […]

Leave a Reply

