Shrimp and Pineapple Kabobs

Last week I was taking a look at my Simply Recipes page and noticed a severe lack of options in the dinner department. This actually is not surprising due to my current lifestyle. I get home from classes in the afternoon and I tend to have a hefty snack, sail through the 6-8 time period without being hungry, and then snack again later at night during study time. Dinner doesn’t happen on most nights, and I am totally okay with it. GoLean and oatmeal make me perfectly happy. But in an effort to challenge myself in increasing my meal variety (because that’s kind of the reason I started this blog) I am going to endeavor to make a “real” dinner twice a week. Below is my first recipe toward that goal.

These shrimp and pineapple kabobs are perfect for a summer barbeque! A lovely combination of savory and sweet, the citrusy flavors are light and fresh, while the cayenne brings some heat. I am usually not a fan of taking the extra time to marinate meats; however, I think the marinade made a huge difference in bringing flavor to this dish.

Grilled Shrimp and Pineapple Kabobs

Makes 2 servings

1/2 pound of shrimp, peeled (I used defrosted frozen)

Marinade

1 can (15 oz) pineapple chunks in juice

1/2 cup orange juice

2 Tbsp lime juice

2 Tbsp soy sauce

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 Tbsp fresh grated ginger

2 tsp cayenne pepper

Directions

Combine all of the ingredients for the marinade (including the juice and chunks of pineapple) in a large container. Add the shrimp and let it sit for 1-2 hours in the refrigerator. Skewer the shrimp and pineapple on the kabobs. Grill for 2-3 minutes each side (I just used a Foreman Grill for about 4 minutes total).

The Foreman made grilling very simple!

I should have positioned the kabobs horizontally for better grill marks-something I will do next time!

Leave a Reply

