Apple Tartlets

yumm…

Let’s talk about how these little baked oatmeal tartlets are so warm and delicious (not that I have been feeling quite sick the past couple of days despite my best efforts to ignore my symptoms :/). Let’s focus on how each one is lovingly wrapped in thin sheet of apple, and the fact that your brunch friends will be so impressed with the presentation. And that you will secretly know how easy they are to make. We can talk about how they are vegetarian and vegan without trying to imitate something they’re not…

Okay, that’s all the enthusiasm I can muster  up for today (I am not the most fun sick person to be around). After sleeping about 12 hours last night I was able to fight off my fever, and now I just sound like a frog. I guess these are baby steps to wellness. In the meantime, I will be drinking EmergenC and waiting for someone to whip up a batch of these Baked Oatmeal Bites for me 😉

Apple Tarlets (or Baked Apple Oatmeal Bites)

makes 12 mini muffin-sized bites

Ingredients:

Filling

1/2 cup instant oats

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 Tbsp almond milk

2 Tbsp brown sugar

2 Tbsp dried cranberries, minced

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla

Crust

1 med apple

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 and spray the mini muffin tins with oil. Combine all filling ingredients and stir well, set aside. Peel apple and then use a potato peeler to shave thin slices of the apple until only the core remains (for me, it was easiest when the slices were about 1/2 wide). Arrange the apple slices into a crust around the muffin tin, approximately 3-4 slices per tin. Scoop the filling into the apple crusts using a teaspoon. Bake for 9-11 minutes until golden brown. Cool on a drying rack.

4 comments on “Apple Tartlets

  1. Kath says:

    Holy cow these look delicious! I hope you feel better 🙂

  2. What a great idea! I’ll have to try that. Love your blog by the way! I really like your cooking style and the simple (and not overwhelming) workout ideas. Thanks! 🙂

    • recimplicity says:

      Thanks! Sometimes just looking at a long ingredient list can make me not want to try a healthy meal, so I try and keep things real simple 🙂 Also, your spelt bread looks great.

  3. tartarsandteacups says:

    I waaaaaaaaaaaaaant these! mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

