Banana Breakfast Bowl

Happy Monday! I am actually a little more excited about the start of this week because it is the last full week of my undergraduate career!! The last day of classes is next Wednesday, and I am so excited to be done with school for at least a couple years.

I have enjoyed college, but these last few weeks have been nonstop work. I literally cannot imagine what it will feel like to not have homework. Even when I do not have a project due in the near future, I still always have the nagging feeling that I should be doing something more productive with my time. While I still have finals ahead of me, I find it a lot easier to study and focus when I don’t have to go to class.

The banana breakfast bowl is my absolute favorite breakfast. I hate the consistency of ripe bananas, and this is a great way to use them (or you can always stick them in the freezer for smoothies). There are several combinations of this basic idea sometimes I use almond butter, throw in dried cranberries, sliced almonds, greek yogurt, protein powder, barley or another grain, chia seeds, etc the list goes on. But let’s start with the basics: the banana breakfast bowl!

Banana Breakfast bowl

1/2 cup oats

1/4 cup quinoa, cooked

3/4 cup water

1 ripe banana

1 Tbsp peanut butter

dash cinnamon

Add the oats to the water, let it sit while you slice the banana. Add the banana, quinoa, and cinnamon to the oats. Microwave for 2 minutes. Top with peanut butter.

…And done! A super easy highly nutritious breakfast!

5 comments on “Banana Breakfast Bowl

  1. Good idea! I love all things oats, but never thought to add in quinoa. Good luck with your finals and finishing up college!! It’ll be such a surreal and amazing feeling when it’s all done. 🙂

  2. michael says:

    Looks delicious. Can’t wait to make one.

  3. […] much as I love a banana breakfast bowl, I knew I could not eat one every day for the next week(s). All yesterday, I mulled over several […]

  4. […] of my go-to recipe blogs. Brittany always posts such interesting healthy recipes. I am an oatmeal/breakfast bowl lover, and am always on the hunt for new grain-based breakfasts. While the idea of rice in the […]

Leave a Reply

