Japanese Snack Mix…and falling down the stairs

Ahh I cannot believe that it is already Thursday!

This week has been crazy for a lot of reasons, but mainly due to dance performances on Friday and Saturday. As co-president of the dance company, I do a lot of logistics and event planning in addition to tons of dancing in rehearsals! My body has been sore since last Saturday, and to top it all off I fell down stairs yesterday. -_-

It happened right after my morning class let out and I was just walking down the stairs like normal (confession: I was texting- but that is actually a very normal occurrence). Then I slipped and fell HARD on my butt.

Before I could even think about it, I flew down four or five steps and finally stopped the momentum enough to stand up. I got on my feet immediately in an effort to regain my composure, and walked nonchalantly down the last two steps. In my attempt to persuade the 40 other people in the stairwell that my recent flight was due to a sudden inspiration to experiment with alternative movement, I failed to notice that my head band still remained on the stair at which I started my rapid descent.

Fighting my audience back up the stairs to retrieve my accessory did not seem worth sacrificing my last remaining teaspoon of pride.

________

Sorry for that digression. If you are wondering, no permanent damage was done although I do have a huge bruise in a perfect rectangle on my butt. Sitting has lost a lot of appeal.

With a busy weekend ahead of me, I am packing a lot of snacks so that I don’t have to think about what to prepare for meals. One of my favorite snacks is this Japanese snack mix. I grew up on rice crackers and seaweed snacks from the Asian store, but I was pleasantly surprised to find these rice crackers at Walgreen’s for only a dollar.

I also found Wasabi peas at Walgreens, but I had already bought some from Trader Joe’s so I can’t vouch for their tastiness.

This mix has a great mix of flavors: salty, sweet, and hot.  The rice crackers lighten it up and add a great crunch!

Japanese Snack Mix

makes 4 cups

Ingredients:

3/4 cup unsalted almonds

1 cup rice cracker mix

3/4 cup salted peanuts

3/4 cup dried cranberries

3/4 cup wasabi peas

Mix everything together. Store in an air tight container.

One comment on “Japanese Snack Mix…and falling down the stairs

  1. That sounds really good! And sorry about the stair fall… I have definitely done that before, as well as tripping over my own feet. Whoops. Somewhat of a clutz. 🙂 Hope your bruise feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

