Moving!

Hi all, this is going to be a quick post because I am up to my eyeballs in things that need to get done yesterday/today/tomorrow. The show is literally taking over my life, and there is no way I would be functioning right now without my amazing co-pres, Christine. 🙂

She is joining me on the ground

Anyway, on to the big news. I am moving to Charlotte in June!!

Originally when I got my job in November, I was going to be working at the office in Raleigh. I planned on living at home for a couple months and then finding a place for myself after I had a concrete schedule/made some payments on my student loans. A couple days ago, I received a call from my future employer and they asked me how I felt about being in Charlotte (which is the main office in NC). I had intitally wanted to be in Charlotte because most of the team works there and it has a fun, younger atmosphere–so I was totally ready to go!

I am still getting used to the idea of packing up and  moving, but I am so excited as well! Ever since I studied abroad sophomore year, I have wanted to move and experience a new place.

In the train station in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania about to embark upon an 18 hour journey with other UNC travelers and our friend Nick

I love traveling and change of scenery in general. However, my post graduation plans were a bit focused on staying close enough to Durham so I could see this guy at least a couple times a month.

Paradise Island (ahhh I miss the cruise)

I am hoping that Charlotte is the perfect distance away from home: so it feels like I am starting my young professional life, but I am also near enough to my family and friends.

Now I am online apartment hunting and looking into ways to meet people/make friends. Right now, I don’t know exactly what I want as far as a place to live-but must haves include a patio/deck and well lit kitchen. As far as the friend situation, I am thinking about joining a running/triathlon group as well as a gym, church, and maybe some type of photography group.

Any ideas for ways to meet potential friends in a new place? Moving suggestions or tips? What are your apartment/home must-haves?

5 comments on “Moving!

  1. YAY how exciting!!! I love a change of scenery (which is probably why I moved from WI to MN to FL to NY and in a few years, to TX) and moving is a great way to accomplish that. I think a great way to meet friends is through your job, but also through your hobbies… join a running club, check out a new hobby like knitting or something. We tried Meet Up for a few different things but there are sometimes some very WEIRD people that come out of the woodwork so you just need to be prepared for that… Congrats!! Hope you get a chance to celebrate this weekend. 🙂

  2. recimplicity says:

    Ha I actually found a couple cool Meet Up groups in the area, but I guess I’ll be prepared for some weirdos lol 🙂

  3. Food Stories says:

    Best of luck in your transition and search for a new place!

  4. […] because I still have two exams and a paper in between today and Friday… Also there the whole moving to a new city […]

  5. […] spent the majority of the day packing up my stuff from my apartment to move back home (and then to Charlotte for my job). While I had moved a lot of my clothes and school stuff out on other occasions, this trip was for […]

Leave a Reply

