Midnight Banana Muffins

Last week I bought way too many bananas (like 12), and they have been browning on my table over the past few days.

As much as I love a banana breakfast bowl, I knew I could not eat one every day for the next week(s). All yesterday, I mulled over several banana recipes but did not latch on to a specific idea that sounded both delicious and healthy.

Last night when I returned home around 11:30, I walked in the door and saw the bananas again. I was struck with a desire to eat them in some type of baked good immediately inspiration to make banana bread and searched around some of my favoriate blogs to find a good recipe.

I wanted to bake something on the healthy side, without sacrificing taste. These muffins definitely achieve the balance of (mostly) good for you ingredients and supreme deliciousness. You will not even know they are vegan/pretty healthy! That being said, if you do not include the chocolate chips (shame on you) I would recommend adding a bit more sweetener.

In an attempt to save as much time as possible, and get to bed before 1am, I made muffins instead of bread, but this recipe will work with either. Bread will have a longer baking time, probably around 45-50 minutes. This recipe probably makes enough for 16ish normal size muffins, but I refused to do any more dishes than necessary, so I managed to cram most of the batter into my 12 muffin tins (and eat the rest raw-hurrah for vegan baking!). These ginormous babies are the result.

Vegan Banana Nut Muffins

adapted from Hill’s Healthy Banana Bread

makes 12 really large muffins

Ingredients:

dry

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup white flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

wet

3 ripe bananas, mashed

1/4 cup oil

1/4 cup almond milk

1/2 cup agave

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

fold-ins

1/2 cup chopped toasted walnuts

1/2 cup dark chocolate morsels (use vegan if that is important to you-I didn’t)

Preheat oven to 350. Combine wet and dry ingredients in separate bowls. Add the wet to the dry. Fold in walnuts and chocolate chips. Scoop into muffin tins (I sprayed mine with a bit of oil first). Bake for 18-22 minutes.

The muffins proved to be a perfect midnight (literally) snack, and I was in bed by 1:10.

Perfect.

4 comments on “Midnight Banana Muffins

  1. Food Stories says:

    These look fantastic but you would never, ever catch me baking at midnight … I might burn the house down 🙂

Leave a Reply

