Finding a New Fitness Goal

This morning I woke up early to fit in a five mile run before a day of studying. I have my first exam tomorrow for my Native American Literature class (random, I know-it fits a general education requirement) and I need to hit the books today!

After my run, I fueled up with a tropical green smoothie-but with a twist. Instead of water and orange juice, I added 1/2 cup of pasteurized egg whites to the blend.

I have always been intrigued by the recipe on the back of the carton for a protein smoothie. Sometimes the taste of protein powder can get overpowering and sickening, and I thought adding egg whites would be a great way to get the protein I wanted without the strong flavor.

Smoothie success!
I know it looks like green goop, but it tasted delicious

Now on to the next topic of today’s post: workout challenges. I am very goal-oriented in most aspects of my life, and I love to be challenged. I think this character trait is even more true when it comes to fitness, I love working towards a goal. Now that dance is over, I have 8ish extra hours in the week in which I am no longer active. I would like to either train for something or get a solid workout plan with some type of concrete result.

I am thinking about running a half marathon in the fall, but it is a bit early to start training for that race. My dad really wants to run one of the mud obstacle course 5ks with me.

Being trampled in the mud=my worst fear

source

I am not super crazy about the idea, but it will probably happen if there is one near Raleigh/Charlotte this summer.

I really want to run another triathlon. I’m actually think about doing one next spring and maybe a Half Ironman in the summer, which would be a serious challenge! However I promised myself during my hellish bike ride last race that I would get a road bike (not my comfy yet clunky commuter bike) before I attempted another triathlon. And since I do not have  a salary, a bike is really not in my immediate future.

Any other ideas for a good training goals/programs? Fun races?

3 comments on “Finding a New Fitness Goal

  1. Food Stories says:

    Native American Literature sounds very interesting so I hope you’re enjoying the class. By the way, love your mud trample pic :-0

  2. You should see if there is a Color Run by you… sounds so fun! 🙂 I would LOVE to do a Mud Run. My uncle and I talked about doing Tough Mudder… but it’s the same weekend as my wedding. There are so many great runs out there! I think it’s important to pick a distance and work towards that… if you do a half-marathon, you can fill in with a few shorter runs here and there. 🙂

  3. Dad says:

    Like the idea of 5k mud run with pops 🙂

Leave a Reply

