Spinach Barley Salad

I have a new favorite salad.

Actually to be honest, I was never a huge fan of the romaine lettuce, deli meat, and balsamic vinegar salads that I ate three times a week all year…Or maybe I liked it in the beginning, but just got trapped in the ease of making the same thing everyday. Either way, I never tried anything new. Until I concocted this fresh, lemony, sweet, and crunchy creation-there is so much going on in this salad!

All the flavors combine to form a perfect summertime salad with enough substance to be eaten as a meal. I also think it would be great as a side for a potluck or summer picnic!

Spinach Barley Salad

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients

3 cups fresh spinach

1 cup cooked barley

1/2 cup parsley, chopped

1/2 cup walnut pieces, toasted

1/4 cup dried cherries, chopped

Dressing

juice of one lemon (about 1/4 cup)

1 T olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

Combine the salad ingredients. Add the lemon juice and oil to a small bowl and microwave for a minute. Whisk to combine the salt. Immediately pour over the salad and toss until evenly coated. Serve warm or cold-I prefer warm 🙂

note: I microwaved the dressing because I prefer my spinach to be a little wilted; but if you want a cold salad, this step is unnecessary.

What is your favorite dish to bring to summer potlucks or gatherings? 

6 comments on “Spinach Barley Salad

  1. Kath says:

    This look so great! 🙂

  2. Food Stories says:

    It is so easy to get in a rut and eat the same things.This looks so good and packed full of vitamins and minerals. Good choice!

  3. What a lovely looking salad, so fresh, healthy and delicious.

  4. […] Fresh Spinach and Barley Salad […]

Leave a Reply

