Oatmeal Applesauce Pancakes

Yesterday was not the most fun of days. I spent most of my time in front of the computer alternately:

1. defining terrorism-and generally just researching terrorist groups for a paper in my Ethics of War class

2. reading blogs- congrats to Lora, looking at Kath’s cute interview outfits, and an older but super inspirational post from swim bike mom about her Half Ironman (sob alert!)

3. writing a reflection paper about my mentoring experience

4. watching episodes from season 5 of How I Met Your Mother- slowly but surely getting through the whole series

5. trying to understand participles in all their forms in Russian- not much success in that department :/

I also fit in a decent three mile run in the afternoon to keep me from going stir crazy.

Despite the blahs of finals week, I got my day off to a great start with an Oatmeal Applesauce Pancake! I opened a big container of applesauce a couple days ago and need to use it all up before it goes bad. Any easy applesauce recipe suggestions?

I basically used this recipe by Whole Foods, but I added a 1/4 cup of milk and omitted the syrup. These are not as filling as my protein pancakes, but still a great option for a healthy breakfast.

Oatmeal Applesauce Pancakes

adapted from Oatmeal Apple Pancakes

Ingredients

1 egg

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 cup rolled oats (use GF if needed)

1/4 cup milk

dash of cinnamon

Directions: Add all of ingredients to blender (I use my magic bullet) and blend until the batter is smooth. Cook on a greased pan 2-3 minutes each side.

I topped mine with almond butter

Enjoyed with some Chai tea to wake me up

Also, “apple sauce” one word or two?

7 comments on “Oatmeal Applesauce Pancakes

  1. the Jilb says:

    These pancakes look great and nutritious!

    And I think applesauce is one word. I think.

  2. Thanks for the shoutout! These look delicious. Do you like your magic bullet? We were registering for wedding gifts last night and I saw it.

    • recimplicity says:

      I do like my bullet overall; however, I also want a food processor to make up for the qualities it lacks. The biggest downside is that it does not have the necessary power for pureeing beans, nuts, or coconut (to make coconut butter-something I really want to try!). The blades get stuck, and it just cannot get the mixture smooth. Also the cup size can be a little limiting if you are making a large quantity of something. I think the biggest size I have is 16 0z which is usually perfect. On the other hand, it is amazing for smoothies, pancakes and anything that is mostly liquid. I love that it is really easy to clean, and the perfect size for making one smoothie.

  3. Food Stories says:

    Chai tea and pancakes look yummy. FYI … Sending some major blog love your way. I just passed on the Kreativ Blogger and Sunshine Award to you. You can read about it at Food Stories 🙂

  4. Holly says:

    Can’t wait to try these!
    And you should try a hand blender. I did buy a food processor when I had my son to make baby food, I agree somethings the bullet just can do, but it was a lot of work to clean. I found a hand blender for 10 bucks and decided to give it a try, works great! Not as good as a food processor, I’ll still have to use it for a few things, but better then the bullet and a lot easier to clean!

Leave a Reply

