Cauliflower Pizza Dough

I feel like this blog does a great job of illustrating the fact that I enjoy experimenting in the kitchen. I try not to judge any idea before a I eat it, and often encounter delicious results. I have started brewing my own kombucha, made chocolately desserts with tofu and chickpeas, baked delicious granola with quinoa, and even added carrots and spinach to my smoothies. So when I came across a recipe for cauliflower pizza dough I was intrigued, and saved the link for a day when I had more time and access to a large food processor.

On Monday when my mom asked if I had any ideas for dinner, this recipe came to mind. I looked at the recipe and comments, made some changes and started my first batch of riced cauliflower. Don’t be afraid by the long instructions, ricing cauliflower is really easy and not time consuming.  I wanted to be as clear as possible so the instructions ended up being a little long winded.

I will say that this dough is less firm than traditional dough. I added parmesan to the recipe in hopes of making it a bit more structured, which I think helped. When cooled, the pizza can be handled by the slice- but hot out of the oven, it is too cheesy not to be eaten with a fork. However the taste is barely distinguishable from wheat crust. My dad was pleasantly surprised that it tasted so good, and was a lot healthier. This recipe is a great substitute for traditional pizza; it is way lighter and easier than making your own wheat crust!

Cauliflower Pizza Dough

Adapted from Your Lighter Side 

serves 3 (or 4 not-so- hungry people)

Ingredients

1/2 head of Cauliflower (1 1/2 cups riced)

1/2 cup mozzarella cheese, shredded

1/2 parmesan cheese, shredded

1 egg

dash of garlic powder

Directions: After washing the cauliflower, chop half to fit into the food processor. Process the cauliflower until it breaks down into pieces about the size of grains of rice (thus the term “riced cauliflower” :)). Microwave the riced cauliflower uncovered, without water for 7-9 minutes-My microwave at home is fairly new, so I microwaved it for 7 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 450.

Let the cauliflower cool for a couple minutes before adding the 1/2 cup each of the mozzarella and parmesan, the egg, and garlic powder. Mix well.

Grease a 9 inch pizza/cookie sheet. Plop the dough in blobs around the sheet, and spread to get an even crust.

Cook for 12-15 minutes.

______________________

I topped mine with 1/2 cup of sauce, 1/2 cup of mozzorella, goat cheese, grilled chicken, and Kalmata olives before sticking it back into the oven on broil for 5 minutes.

My sister, Claire, is not a fan of goat cheese-thus the goat cheese-less section

yum

9 comments on “Cauliflower Pizza Dough

  1. Food Stories says:

    I love riced cauliflower. I have to admit, I’ve seen the pizza crust recipe for years but never tried it. I may have to give it a go … thx for the review and the reminder 🙂

  2. Kath says:

    Holy cow this looks AMAZING! Also, I woke up and had to throw out the leftover rice crispies we didn’t devour, for fear I would eat the rest for breakfast. 🙂 Have fun packing/cleaning!

  3. This looks so good! What a great idea. I love using riced cauliflower in place of couscous in tabouleh. I’ll give this a shot too!

Leave a Reply

