Graduation Day

Yesterday I graduated from UNC-Chapel Hill! The commencement was held outside in Kenan Stadium; the weather was quite nice: overcast and not too hot.

A stadium full of blue caps

I loved being able to spend time with my friends for our last hurrah as undergrads. We met up early to make sure we could sit together, and battled the crowds into the stadium.

It was a bit of a mad rush trying to get through the doors

We have all stuck together since freshman year, and really grown up together these four years. I loved being able to go crusin with them for Spring Break this year, and I hope to continue to laugh with them through the years.

I tried really hard not to get a dent in my hair from wearing that silly hat. We had a little party in the evening, and I knew I would not have time to redo my hair if it got messed up from the cap. Since I had not seen a lot of the people who came in a couple months (and sometimes years!) I wanted my hair to look good/normal 😉 I think the sacrifice was worth it, but in most pictures I am cap-less.

My department graduation was immediately after the main ceremony, and was much smaller. I didn’t get any pictures of it because I was too busy alternately eating food (I was starving) and worrying that I would somehow trip when I went to pick up my diploma. My department is pretty small (70ish graduates) and I liked the intimate, yet timely ceremony. It was really cool to hear where in D.C. everyone would be working lol. Not everyone is going to D.C., but since most graduates wanted to work with the federal government, I felt like most people are heading there.

We did get a picture of the cake, of course (PWAD=Peace, War, and Defense)

Some of my extended family and my grandmas were able to attend, it was great to have a bunch of family showing their support especially since it was also mother’s day 🙂

Some of my family

My two grandmas and me

with my parents

What a great day to be a Tar Heel!

9 comments on “Graduation Day

  1. Food Stories says:

    Congratulations! Do you mind sharing what your degree is and what you’ll be doing for work?

    • recimplicity says:

      Sure! I graduated double majoring in Political Science and Peace, War, and Defense. Next month I will start working as an IT consultant for school systems.

      To answer your next question: No, I do not know anything about IT 😉

      • Food Stories says:

        Very interesting and cerebral …. I think I thought you were a dancer 🙂

      • recimplicity says:

        ha thanks! I’d like to think of myself as cerebral 😉 There was a time in my life when I wanted to be a dancer, but I decided I would have to give up too much of the normal life things. So I just do it for fun and exercise

  2. Congratulations!!! I love seeing all that baby blue together. 🙂

  3. […] great as actually graduating was, the real fun/food came during the […]

  4. […] weekend was relaxing calm and relaxing, especially compared to the craziness of graduation weekend. I went on a couple nice runs and walks in the neighborhood, visited with friends and […]

  5. tartarsandteacups says:

    Cheers! My friend here in Russia also liked this post 😉
    Miss you, kid xoxo Lara

Leave a Reply

