No Bake Coconut Molasses Bars

These bars are the result of a mistake in the kitchen that ended up creating something quite delicious (which does not happen very often-remember the pancakes?). I was working on a no bake cookie recipe and decided to add molasses as the sweetener on a whim. I forgot that molasses is a very strong flavor and completely overwhelmed the peanut butter. After a bit of experimentation with other flavors, I found that coconut flakes  mellows out the molasses and creates a nicer presentation than brown squares.

I struggled in the decision of whether to post these or not, since they were not what I was originally planning on making. But when the family ate all 12 bars in under 12 hours, I felt like that was evidence enough to their deliciousness!

No Bake Molasses Bars

makes 12 one inch bars

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

1/2 cup peanut butter

1/3 cup molasses

1/4 cup dried coconut flakes

Mix the first three ingredients together until the batter is smooth. Firmly press batter into a 9×9 (or smaller) pan. Cut into squares and remove, the first one might get a little squished but it gets easier to remove them after the first one. Press the bars into the coconut flakes to coat every side.

_________________________

Also today is the first day of Lora’s Burpee Challenge! I started off with 15 burpees (with jumps and push ups) and the plan is to add one burpee each day. I will say that 15 was a challenge today, and I am glad I have some accountability to continue with this when it gets really hard!

6 comments on “No Bake Coconut Molasses Bars

  1. Those look so dense and delicious!

  2. Ooh these look YUMMY!! SO glad you are participating in the Burpee Challenge. I also did 15 this morning and man, it was tougher than I thought!! 🙂

    • recimplicity says:

      yeah, I thought it would be no big deal but after about 7 I thought about maybe starting at 10. But knowing that you were going for 15, put the pressure on me to do more, yay for virtual gym partners 🙂

  3. Food Stories says:

    I love mistakes like that 🙂

  4. thelady8home says:

    Wow! These look easy, and delicious!! I am always looking for easy and quick snack recipes, and this looks perfect. Peanut butter too! I am trying them tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

