Protein Packed Oatmeal

Out of all the clean eating plans out there, Paleo is one that has never really called to me. I am not the biggest meat eater, and I love grains and dairy too much! I also find it a bit weird that eating like a caveman still allows for processes like baking that were not around in the Cenozoic Period (yes, I did look that up ;)). However I found a recipe for paleo “oats” that was really intriguing. Instead of using oats, the recipe called for eggs and fruit as a grain substitute.

As you know, I am always looking for fast breakfast ideas that are packed with protein. Some of my favorites include egg muffins, protein pancakes and smoothies. Despite these great ideas, I usually end up eating oatmeal several times a week because of its convenience and the fact that I don’t have to prepare ahead of time.

I experimented with several different versions of this recipe before finally perfecting one worthy of sharing. It includes some oats for fiber, but mostly because I felt weird eating eggs scrambled with fruit. The egg adds protein, which keeps me full for longer than my typical bowl of oats. So far, I have used this recipe with bananas, apple sauce and blueberries. I am sure other fruits would be just as tasty and filling.

Protein Packed Oatmeal

Ingredients

2 T oats

1/2 cup fruit, mashed

1 egg

Add water to the oats until they are covered and let sit for five minutes. After letting the oats sit, drain out the water and add the mashed fruit. Scramble the egg and thoroughly combine with the oats and fruit. Microwave for two minutes, stopping to stir the mixture after a minute.

I used blueberries in this batch

raw mixture

Today I am off early to look at apartments in Charlotte! Hopefully I will find some nice and not too expensive options 🙂

2 comments on “Protein Packed Oatmeal

  1. Food Stories says:

    Very interesting … Best of luck on the apartment search 🙂

  2. machisan says:

    Awww what a beautiful post

Leave a Reply

