Tips to Keep Running

Often when I run, the second mile is the hardest. It doesn’t matter how long I am planning on running. It could be 3 miles or 5, but the second mile is ALWAYS the one during which I want to quit. After I make it through the second mile, I usually fall into my pace and really enjoy running.

On one of my last runs I made a mental checklist of things I do/think to just keep running when I want to quit.

It seems to fall into four stages:

1. Avoidance-Instead of acknowledging the fact that I want to quit, I try and distract myself by thinking of other things

-Focus on what I will eat when I get home

-Make a mental list of things I need to do

-Plan my outfit for the day

2. Mantras– These are especially helpful for me when I am running up hills, and I can no longer avoid the thought that quitting would feel really nice

-You quit when you are done-not when you get tired

-This will be the hardest hill

-You have to run for the race

3. Mini Goal making-If a mantra is just not persuasive enough, I try and trick myself into going just a bit further

-Just run to the next stop sign (block, stop light, etc)

-Run up hills and jog down

4. Peer Pressure– When all else fails, the fact that people around me will see me quit (even if they are mowing the lawn and totally not paying attention to me) keeps me going. 

-Why do I want to stop?

I am out of breath? (no), Does anything hurt? (no)

So…there is really no reason to quit

-Those people will think you are a wimp for quitting now, are you even sweating?

 

Do you have any workout mantras? What do you think about to keep you going when you just want to quit?

4 comments on “Tips to Keep Running

  1. Food Stories says:

    I love your mantras … Happy Weekend 🙂

  2. Kath says:

    These tips are so helpful 🙂 I’m so glad you found a neat apartment!

  3. Love this! Ha, and I love what you said about peer pressure. I definitely (though unintentionally) run faster when there’s more people around. When I’m not really feeling a run, I just focus on how good it feels to move my body and be outside…or focus on posture or my breathing. But I guess, most of all I try to remember why I love to run in the first place. That usually does the trick, even when I’m grumpily despising the run at that moment. 🙂 Good luck with apartment hunting and moving!

Leave a Reply

