Weekend Warriors

Instead of heading to the beach, my family decided to use this Memorial day weekend to get some work done on building a new chicken pen.

I started off the day with my favorite three ingredient crepes topped with apple chunks and dried cherries.

I promise there are crepes under all of the toppings…

Then we got to work on the new pen. Perry and one of Claire’s friends came over to help the work go faster. The  pen we currently have is mostly just chicken wire draped around some poles, topped with netting. It is very cumbersome to open and taller people have to crouch down once inside because of the height of the netting.

Perry and my dad teamed up to saw wood pieces

and dig post holes

The chickens were very curious about what was going on outside of their pen

Inside the garage, the girls worked on staining the boards.

At the end of our work day, the pen had not changed much-but a lot of work had been done!

Today we are working on it some more and hopefully will have more visible changes to report 🙂

7 comments on “Weekend Warriors

  1. Kath says:

    oh my gosh! this chickens 🙂 I want to come visit you and see them!

  2. Michael says:

    Looks like a chicken “coop” fit for a queen. Or queens.

    • Andre says:

      I do the same thing with my Shakeology, make it into an ice cream, my kids love it. I love to make the chocolate one with Organic Unsweetened Coconut Flakes, Peanut Butter, Protein Powder and Almond Milk, with lots of ice the hsiethalet meal of my day and its like dessert

  3. […] weekly in the summer when we had access to delicious home grown tomatoes. Although we do have a chicken coop, unfortunately we don’t have anything but a herb garden in the yard. So we have to rely on […]

Leave a Reply

