Key Lime Pie Smoothie

Happy Memorial Day!

I hope most people are able to take a little break and catch some rays today ๐Ÿ™‚

I just got back from a short run, and will hopefully be spending the rest of the day chilling by the pool with Perry and his family. it’s rare for Perry to have a holiday off, so we are going to enjoy this extra time together before he goes back to school.

Before I head out, I am going to sipping on a Key Lime Pie Smoothie to fulfill my morning protein needs. It is so light and fresh, with the smooth creaminess of key lime pie. The lime juice and sweet whey powder create the perfect tart balance. I love that the oats mimic the crust and provide some extra fiber. You could also throw in a handful of spinach to get a bright green color, and some added nutrients!

KEY LIME PIE SMOOTHIE

Ingredients

1 cup almond milk

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

1 frozen banana

2 Tbsp instant oats

1 scant Tbsp Lime juice

1 scoop vanilla protein powder (whey gives the sweetest creamy taste)

Directions: Add the oats to the almond milk and let sit in the blender for a few minutes. Then add the rest of the ingredients and blend until smooth.

Also, chicken coop update:

The boyfriends (Perry and David) helped us tremendously (in part because they are both over 6 feet tall) in constructing the chicken pen yesterday.

Perry helping put on the wire roof

David holding up the roof beam

Claire and my dad put the finishing touches and screen door on this morning.

Now we just have some little touch ups to do before it is totally completed!

13 comments on “Key Lime Pie Smoothie

  1. Happy memorial day to you too! Great sounding smoothie!

  2. Kath says:

    I have been making a similar smoothie with lime juice, but I haven’t added the oatmeal in it. sounds fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. thelady8home says:

    I have vanilla whey protein powder siting my cabinet for months now. Thank you for this recipe, I’m going to try it right away. I’ll have to get some key lime though, but that should not be too tough.

  4. thelady8home says:

    Your hens looks so cuddly and cute :)) This reminds me of my nana’s place. I used to be terrified going into their pen. My grandma would give me an exasperated look, walk in and retrieve all the eggs without blinking an eye.

  5. taylorrmade says:

    Definitely going to have to try this smoothie! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Key Lime Pie Smoothie?! Yes please! And i love the chicken coop pictures…we used to raise chickens when I was little and we totally had a coop just like that! Nostalgia. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • recimplicity says:

      Aww We really love them ๐Ÿ™‚ My younger sister worked at a farm last summer and convinced my parents to get some chicks last fall. They are her babies lol
      What kind of chickens did you have?

      • Um, brown ones? haha, we haven’t had chickens in awhile, and when we started I was too young to pay a whole lot of attention to the details. I LOVED them though! Those little chirpy chicks do have a way of growing on you. ๐Ÿ™‚ What a cool thing — happy chickens, happy eggs. I wish I could have a coop now — don’t think my apartment complex landlord would be too excited…;)

  7. Food Stories says:

    Love the smoothie recipe and the new chicken coop … I love the pics ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Yum! Love how you use almond milk!

  9. […] caffeine in the mornings! On my blog I have recipes for this carrot ginger flavor, along with key limeย pie and peanut butter and […]

  10. Marcus Genter says:

    I like to take whey protein because it is easily absorbed by the body unlike Casein. ‘

    <a href="Look at our very own web page too
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/fish-oil-benefits/

Leave a Reply

