Day at the Beach

Yesterday Perry and I headed out to Topsail Island, NC to enjoy a day at the beach.

We left around 7:30, so I packed some smoothies for the road.

Along with some grapefruit

We spent much of the three hour drive listening to the 3 beach CD’s that Perry had burned (since my car ipod player is less than reliable)

It included some of our favorite artists: John Mayer, Damien Rice, Lisa Hannigan, Sara Bareilles, John Legend, Adele and other random artists

These CDs took compromise out of the music choice, since I am more of a Top 40 girl and Perry prefers southern rock and classic rock. But we do both really enjoy all of the above artists, so no one had to suffer through less than ideal music…although I did sneak in some Pit Bull and Mika when I took a turn driving ;).

When we arrived at the beach, we decided to take a walk before lunch.

Lunch was a delicious seafood feast!

Most of the fish was fried, but I loved it all the same!

After that huge lunch, we returned to the beach to lay out and swim and build sand sculptures ๐Ÿ™‚

I want to go back already!

Now the family is off to Claire’s baccalaureate for her high school graduation.

Hope you are having a great weekend as well ๐Ÿ™‚

Does anyone else have different music tastes than your significant other?

Any strategies for keeping you both happy?

 

7 comments on “Day at the Beach

  1. thelady8home says:

    How sweet! Looks like you guys enjoyed ๐Ÿ™‚ You make a handsome couple.

  2. tartarsandteacups says:

    I showed this to my friend and told her I was going to go to your wedding in 2 years ๐Ÿ™‚ lovely

  3. […] the big clumps in granola, and these did not disapoint! They served as a perfect afternoon snackย at the beach. I actually made two batches of the recipe because my mom and sister ate most of the first batch […]

  4. loramarie03 says:

    Looks like a fun day!! How do you eat your grapefruit? We like the both kind of music and he always opens me up to new stuff… I guess just try to have an open mind and make sure you both get equal playing time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. […] that Perry and I took to the NC mountains last weekend. While I generally consider myself more of a beach person, hiking in the mountains was a great experience as […]

Leave a Reply

