Fitness Check-in

It’s been a while since I have done a fitness post, so I thought I would check in and share what I have (not)been up to the past couple weeks.

The past couple weeks of my life have been a weird in-between period. I am in transition from school to summer to work/real life. Immediately after graduation, I finished up some school related things. Recently I have been slowly getting things together for my move to Charlotte and starting working in mid-June.  However since I have not been too busy, I have the tendency to put things off that I just don’t feel like doing immediately….Which usually results in things just not getting completed. I justify my complacency by intensively planning for the future (you don’t want to know how many excel spreadsheets that I have created), instead of being active in the moment.

One big area of my life that is feeling the effects of not living in the present is my fitness goals. Mornings are the best time for me to workout, but it has not been happening in the way I would like. I have been slacking off in a big way on running. I often don’t feel the pressure to go out and run right now, so I push it back to later in the day until something else comes up. A half marathon is definitely something I want to do in the near future, but I am waiting to sign up for anything until I know my work schedule and when I might be traveling.

Swimming has supplemented my workouts a bit, and it’s nice to be back in the water after 9 months. However, I have not been getting out there as often as I should/could. Thankfully, I am also participating in Kara’s Strong Core Challenge, which is keeping my abs sore! Checking off the exercises on her spreadsheet holds me more accountable for completing the moves.

I am interested in starting some sort of challenge or workout regime in the near future. But I want to commit to something 100 percent, and my schedule is about to get a little crazy since I leave for the cruise on Saturday for a week and then start work!

Anyway, for the next couple of days I am focusing on quick intense workouts. Once I get moving, I love it and will usually keep going. But before I start, working out can sound so unappealing especially if I know it will take a long time. So blogilates and bodyrock workouts are definitely coming my way!

3 comments on “Fitness Check-in

  1. I know what you mean Erin. We recently moved from CA, and I was a regular at Zumba. There is nothing like that around where I live, unless I want to drive 10 miles, which for me, is a workout in itself.

    I try catching up with a few things, but it’s not the same. Good luck with your new workout schedule 🙂

  2. Food Stories says:

    Transitions can be good. As soon as you get your move and job out of the way, I know you’ll get a schedule going!

Leave a Reply

