Dreaming of Vacation

Things have been kind of slow around here, and the weather is so dreary now that I cannot help but daydream about our cruise leaving on Sunday.

As a graduation present for my sister (Claire graduated high school) and I, my parents are taking us on a family cruise. Our ports include Labadee, Haiti; Falmouth, Jamiaca; and Cozumel, Mexico.

I think one of these long zipline rides would be so fun!

I have not been to any of these islands, and am looking forward to experiencing the gorgeous beaches. I also am excited about returning to Mexico.

My study abroad sophomore year was a joint program in which we were in Tanzania for 8 weeks and Mexico for 8 weeks. I loved living in the colonial city of Oaxaca for two months. The area is famous for their mole, a pepper based sauce that generally goes over chicken and rice. It can be black, red, yellow, and green depending on the peppers used.

a big pot of poblano mole our host family cooked

I also really enjoying learning about the culture and history of the country.

dancing with a skeleton during Day of the Dead celebrations

In front of a pyramid ruin

One thing I am really looking forward to on this vacation is the food! I loved our (non-stop) cruise food over spring break, and I am ready for more extravagant four course meals. Of course the local cuisine can be just as mouth watering! [I am thinking about my fried fish in the Bahamas]. In order to balance all this eating out, I will have to do more swimming and walking than laying in the sun, but it will be totally worth it 🙂

I guess it’s not too early to start packing…

5 comments on “Dreaming of Vacation

  1. Food Stories says:

    Girl, start packing pronto … You’re gonna have so much fun!

  2. SO fun!!! Don’t forget to try the jerk chicken in Jamaica…and the rum! I’ve heard the rum is unbelievable. 🙂

  3. Oh what fun!!!! It’s definitely not early. I would have started packing yesterday.

    Makes me want to go for a vacation too!

  4. tartarsandteacups says:

    I went to Cozumel- it’s beautiful! But try to get away from the cruise port- there it’s just peddlers and crowded! But upshore I even swam with the fishies! Have a great time! ~Lara

  5. […] Erin asked me to be a guest poster when she is away on her amazing cruise (who else is extremely jealous?!), I was like umm, yes! I absolutely love Recimplicity and am so […]

Leave a Reply

