Guest Post: A Low Carb Meal from C.J.

I am excited to introduce my second guest blogger-C.J. from Food Stories. I love talking to her via comments and emails- she is such a sweetheart. Her posts implement national food holidays to share low carb recipes and stories about food. Also her blog layout is incredible; you can tell that she used used to write websites professionally! You should definitely check it out 🙂

___________________________________________

Hello … I am C.J. from Food Stories (http://www.foodstoriesblog.com) and I am so excited to be joining you today. I’ve only been blogging for a few months and this is my very first guest post. It will be hard to contain my excitement but I will try 🙂 Thank you Erin for extending this opportunity.

Just so you know a little bit about me, I am a 40 something, married female that lives on the west coast of the United States. I love food and all things food related. Being a nurse, I especially like the food science/nutritional aspect of food, as well as, typical food preparation, recipes and eating (of course). Consuming fresh, natural, whole and unprocessed food is probably the way that most people should be eating. Unfortunately, I’m a Type II Diabetic so I have to use some processed items to make my diet even half way palatable. Balancing natural foods along with low carb can be daunting but I work hard at it and do my best.

When Erin asked me about doing the guest post, I got so excited that I immediately started pouring over all my recipes to pick something great. With this being my first guest post, I didn’t want to let anyone down so I decided to do a three course meal. Knowing that not everyone eats low carb, this gave me a great excuse to try to balance some of the meal components out. Read that as making and enjoying a carb-y dessert (grin). Dear hubby loves when we do that! So in my excitement, I ran to the store and started buying everything. There was even a little kitchen section with some cute dishes and I found some great little baking dishes. I didn’t have anything in mind but I bought them because I just might need them someday.

So as I’m checking out, the lady ringing me up looks at my little dishes and says, “are these oven safe?” I replied that I didn’t know. She seemed kind of obsessed and kept looking. She then asked the guy checker next to her and they both started looking. The guy that came over said, “boy, these would be great with my french onion soup recipe”. The lady at my check stand looked stunned and said, “you cook?”. He said, “sure” and he whipped out his phone to search for the pictures. As he was looking, I said, “are you a food blogger?” and he said, “yes, why do you ask?” I replied that I didn’t know too many people that carried around their dinner pictures from the previous night except for my online foodie friends. He thought that was hilarious and said he suspected I was a blogger too because no one buys those silly dishes in the grocery store except for “us”. As the three of us bonded over french onion soup pictures, the line started backing up so we had to break it up and get back to the business at hand. It was just such a funny experience because food bloggers are everywhere!

The three course meal that I prepared especially for you came from the ingredients acquired during this shopping adventure and it was well worth it.

For a starter, we have marinated zucchini salad.

Inline image 2

Marinated Zucchini Salad
Ingredients:
1 pound zucchini, sliced as thinly as possible
3 Tbsp lemon juice
3 Tbsp olive oil
2 cloves of garlic, smashed or pressed
salt and pepper as desired
Directions:
Place zucchini, lemon juice, olive oil and garlic in a large bowl.
Season generously with salt and pepper.
Cover and let marinate in the refrigerator overnight.
Inline image 1

For an entree we have veggie cheese squares
Inline image 1
Veggie Cheese Squares
Ingredients:
2 cups fresh broccoli florets
1 medium red bell pepper, julienned
1 Tbsp olive oil
2 cloves garlic, chopped or pressed
4 eggs
1 cup soy milk
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese, divided
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
Directions:
In a large skillet, saute broccoli and red pepper in oil.
Add garlic; cook 1 minute longer.
Spoon into a 9-in. greased square baking dish.
In another large bowl, combine the eggs milk, 3/4 cup cheese, thyme and salt.
Pour over the broccoli mixture.
Bake, uncovered, at 350 for 25-30 minutes.
Sprinkle with the remaining cheese.
Bake 5 minutes longer or until cheese is melted.
Let stand for 5 minutes before cutting.
Inline image 2
Inline image 3
 For dessert, we have no sugar added apple turnovers.
Inline image 3
No Sugar Added Apple Turnovers
Ingredients:
1 refrigerated pie crust, at room temperature
1 can no sugar added apple pie filling
Directions:
Heat oven to 425 degrees.
Unroll pie crust onto sheet pan.
Drain pie filling of most of the liquid in the can.
Spread about 1/2 to 3/4 of the fruit onto the pie crust.
Grab one side of pie filling and pull over the fruit to lay on the bottom edge of the filling.
Crimp filling with fork to seal edges.
Cut a few slits into the top pie crust.
Bake 30-40 minutes or until golden brown.
Inline image 4
8 comments on “Guest Post: A Low Carb Meal from C.J.

  1. thelady8home says:

    Congratulations CJ on your first Guest post. Love the recipes!

  2. Food Stories says:

    Erin … Looks like the food images are not displaying so I posted them on my site (http://foodstoriesblog.com/2012/06/12/three-course-meal/) until you are able to troubleshoot on your end 🙂

  3. Claudia says:

    Lovely guest post – adore the story – food bloggers finding each other in grocery stores… and love the vegetable-centric recipes.

  4. […] Remember when C.J. posted that awesome low-carb three course meal? […]

Leave a Reply

