Run for the Green 1/2 Marathon

I am finally running a half marathon! I chose this one because of the date, location, and relative flatness.

Running a 1/2 is only something I have wanted to do for about a year. I never ran consistently until I trained for an international length triathlon last summer. But after that experience I knew I wanted to continue running (but not compete in another tri until I bought a decent bike).

I started half-heartedly training last fall, but school and the whole finding a job thing took up too much time. Before my mini summer break, I also thought about trying to train for something to do after graduation. However with moving from school to home, graduation, and moving from home to Charlotte, plus our cruise vacation, everything was a little up in the air until the last minute.

Any way, after going through all the reasons why I haven’t ever ran a half, I do feel like I have the stability and structure to start training.

The race is 12 weeks away (including this week) so I have the perfect amount of time to build up my mileage.

*****

On another note, my first day of work was great. Thanks for everyone who called, texted and commented to wish me luck 🙂 I was ridiculously nervous-not that there was anything but filling out HR paperwork and training to be worried about. I really like my office and supervisor so far. It is a very young office, and I think it will be pretty fun as far as work environments go.

8 comments on “Run for the Green 1/2 Marathon

  1. loramarie03 says:

    YAY glad the first day went well!! Congrats on signing up for your first half, you are going to LOVE it!! 🙂

  2. Kara says:

    Congrats, that’s so exciting! My first half changed my life, seriously. It made me fall in love with running even more…such a sense of accomplishment. Hope the new job is great!

  3. Food Stories says:

    Glad your first day went well … Best wishes for the next one!

  4. -kevin- says:

    If you want a running partner for the first 10K and don’t mind an old dude, sign me up..;-)

  5. […] she has amazing recipes. And her photography is incredible! Erin recently signed up for her first half marathon so I can’t wait to hear all about her training adventures and how the race goes. She just […]

  6. […] I am currently four weeks into my (first) half marathon training, I thought it would be a good time to check in and talk about how it is going so […]

Leave a Reply

