Apple Raisin Kale Salad

I have another great summer salad today!

I made kale chips earlier in the week, but I had over half the bag of kale left. I decided to give raw kale salads a second chance, and pulled together this apple raisin salad. A couple months ago I stopped forcing myself to eat raw kale because I just hated it. But every so often I think about giving it another chance, and I just happened to be in the mood for a heartier salad.

I actually don’t mind eating this kale salad, and tastes much better the second day-not a usual occurrence for salads! But the tough kale absorbs some of the oil and vinegar, and become a lot more palatable (this is coming from someone who does not prefer raw kale, can you tell? ;)).

Apple Raisin Kale Salad

Makes 4 side dish servings

Ingredients

2 cups raw kale, chopped

1/2 apple (use a sweeter variety like Fuji, Gala, or Honey Crisp), thinly sliced

3 Tbsp raisins

Dressing

1 Tbsp Olive Oil

2 Tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar

salt

Directions:

Look over the kale and remove any thick stems.  Wisk together oil, vinegar and salt. Pour dressing over salad, and massage it into the kale. Add apple slices and raisins; toss to combine. For best flavor and texture let sit overnight.

Are you a kale enthusiast? What’s the best way to prepare it?

7 comments on “Apple Raisin Kale Salad

  1. Hmmm… I am like you. I try SO hard to like and eat my greens….so difficult 😦
    I like kale chips and I made some kale phyllo rolls, but I don’t know about raw!! But I noticed that in spring salad mixes, they are including raw kale and chard and I have managed to eat it, so maybe it’s all in my head!

    Despite my kale issues, your salad looks refreshing and beautiful!

  2. thelady8home says:

    Oh man!! I wish I could tell you I love this…but I can’t stand kale, raisins are not a favorite, and apples…well, I am one of those weirdos who does not eat apples. But the picture looks beautiful!

  3. hotlyspiced says:

    I just saw on another blog a recipe for raw kale salad. It seems to be very fashionable and rightly so because kale is so good for you. This looks delicious.

  4. This looks amazing, Erin! I am obsessed with kale. Try tossing it with lemon juice, olive oil, a little onion, toasted nuts, salt/pepper, and avocado. And if you still don’t like it, keep adding more avocado til you do. 🙂 Thats the salad that won me over to kale! I can’t wait to try yours!

  5. Food Stories says:

    Kale is so in-vogue right now but I don’t favor it over any other green. Personally, I like collard greens a lot but I am from the South 🙂

Leave a Reply

