Farmer’s Market

Yesterday I checked out two farmer’s markets in Charlotte. A couple of my coworkers recommended Kings Street market and the Charlotte Regional Farmer’s market, so I made the trip to both. The Charlotte Regional market was huge, and had a much greater variety of North Carolina produce than the King’s Street Market.  However both had great selections, and I have really enjoyed the produce so far.

Before we get to the pictures, I will say that the markets were packed with people and it was difficult to take decent pictures. Every time I slowed down or knelt to get a shot, I blocked people trying to pass through. I also felt a little awkward photographing produce without buying anything, especially when the farmers stood three feet away watching my antics (tilting, turning baskets, trying not to get my shadow in the shot). As a last resort, I tried to take some covert walking-while-snapping pictures, but none of them looked all that interesting.

Oh the trials of being a blogger 😉 Despite all of the mishaps, I managed to select some shots that are reflective of the markets and their produce.

Between the two markets I ended up with five tomatoes, four cucumbers, a bunch of basil, a pint of cherries (which I inhaled in under two hours), a pint of peaches, two jalapenos, and several ounces of a locally made dill cheese.

Look forward to lots of exciting vegetable based recipes this next week!

7 comments on “Farmer’s Market

  1. taylorrmade says:

    Everything looks so gorgeous!!

  2. Janice Gold says:

    You’re going to love the tomatoes. My grandmother who lived in Kannapolis used to grow the best tomatoes I’ve ever eaten. Something about the soil there and of course her loving care made them really special. Enjoy!

  3. You did pretty good Erin 🙂 In fact, I’m sure the Farmers are pretty well aware of the antics we bloggers regularly get into. The produce looks so fresh. Nothing like a good farmers market. Once I bought a dozen roses for just 5 dollars and they lasted me almost 20 days.

  4. Kara says:

    I love farmer’s markets!! I always forget when the one in my town is…I need to set a reminder for myself, haha! Oh and I always feel so weird taking pictures of things like that too…I try to do it nonchalantly and hope no one notices 🙂

  5. […] and remembered a recipe I found online a couple weeks ago but had never tried. Luckily my weekly farmer’s market visit’s ensured that I had all […]

Leave a Reply

