Summer Tabbouleh

As you can probably tell, I am on a serious tomato kick this summer. There is just something about fresh, juicy tomatoes that I love, especially in salads. In North Carolina, the tomatoes you can buy in the winter are shipped from way far away and tend not to have the flavor and texture of the homegrown version. Since we are currently enjoying a great tomato season, I just can’t help but eat my fill, and hope that it keeps me satisfied until next summer.

The recipe I am going to share today is my version of the Middle Eastern dish tabbouleh. Tabbouleh is a bulghar wheat salad that traditionally is packed with parsley, mint, and tomatoes. However, since I am not the biggest fan of parsley, my version is full of tomatoes and cucumbers with some lime juice and jalapenos. If you are looking for a traditional tabbouleh recipe, you will be misled by this dish. But if you want a hearty, fresh, and tart salad, and it definitely screams summer!

Ingredients

Serves 4

1 cup bulghar wheat

2 tomatoes, unpeeled and diced (seeding is optional)

2 cucumbers, diced

1 1/2 Tbsp lime juice

1/2 small jalapeno, seeded and finely chopped

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 tsp ground cumin

1 tsp dried crushed mint

Directions

Pour 1 cup of boiling water over the bulghar wheat and let sit for thirty minutes. Drain the excess water and let it cool. After the wheat has cooled, combine all the ingredients. Let it sit for about thirty minutes for the flavors to combine.

2 comments on “Summer Tabbouleh

  1. tartarsandteacups says:

    I’m so glad you’re going to make this for me 🙂

  2. loramarie03 says:

    Can you please publish a cookbook? All of your recipes are so amazing!!

Leave a Reply

