The Fourth

I hope everyone enjoyed their Fourth of July holiday! I sure did. πŸ™‚

On Tuesday after work, I drove to the small town of Hickory, North Carolina to visit one of my friends who is interning here through the summer. The hour drive was thankfully traffic free, and I took the opportunity to turn up the music and belt out some of my favorite songs. While I am not a fan of driving in the city, I love being on the open highway and just spending a little alone time in the car.

After I arrived, Ashley gave me a little tour of the downtown area. It was so cute and rustic!

We went to a local place for dinner and Ashley had the brilliant idea of making the most delicious dessert ever (that Kath had apparently made over the weekend). These little muffin-shaped desserts and ridiculously decadent, and full of sugar and (most importantly) chocolate. I craved something sweet and celebratory, so I decided to go for it and we made literally the most unhealthy dessert ever.

And it was so good.

I don’t usually eat sugar-filled, fat-packed, artery-clogging food, but when I do, I don’t mess around ;).

It looks innocuous upon first glance, but these babies are a layered combo of cookie dough, a reese’s cup, and brownie batter.

so freakin delicious

These might have been the highlight of my holiday break (other than seeing Ashley, of course).

As I waited for my blood sugar levels to recover, I read a book, blogged, laid out by the pool, and did some stuff for work. All in all, a great (indulgent) day πŸ™‚

Any fun stories or crazy delicious food?

4 comments on “The Fourth

  1. Wow those sound intense!! πŸ™‚ Glad you had a fun day… we ended up venturing to a bar/grill in Hoboken in NJ and enjoyed some artery-clogging food as well. πŸ™‚

  2. jennifer says:

    Holy yum!!! I nominated you for the Addictive Blog award. Check it out…www.carolinagirlcooks.com. Cheers! JG

  3. Ari says:

    All these treats without ME! ugh! Rude.

Leave a Reply

