Giveaway: Slow Cooker

I am really excited about my first giveaway opportunity!

Recently, Slimkicker, a healthy living/fitness app and website contacted me about hosting a giveaway on my blog!

SlimKicker is a calorie counter and game that turns your diet and fitness goals into a level-up game with points, rewards and challenges. The site also has diet recipes for many diets such as Medifast and Weight Watchers. You level up by tracking healthy calories and exercises, and completing challenges such as quitting soda for a week.

The challenge part is where you come in; Slimkicker is looking for new challenges for their app, and wants to hear your ideas for workout and healthy living challenges. So think of a measurable way to get healthier or more fit, and write your idea in the comment section.

The winner (as chosen by Slimkicker) will receive this Hamilton Beach Slow Cooker. Unfortunately, the contest is only open to US residents, but everyone else should enter!

To enter just leave a comment with your challenge idea for SlimKicker’s app, and I will announce the winner next Monday.

25 comments on “Giveaway: Slow Cooker

  1. thelady8home says:

    What a FABULOUS giveaway!!!!

    I like the idea. My aim is to reduce about 7 lbs by August.

    My challenge this week is eating a fruit right before I start lunch or dinner.
    Another challenge is to take a break of 1 minute during lunch or dinner, drink water, and move around after I have eaten for five minutes. When I come back to the table, I don’t feel the need to gobble up all the food.

    That way it’s much easier to reduce portions.

  2. Food Stories says:

    Great giveaway, Erin 🙂

  3. […] First of all, did you enter the slow cooker giveaway? […]

  4. Barbara says:

    Very Cool! My challenge is to remember to eat my meals slowly by placing my eating utensil on my plate after each mouthful of food, oh, I mean each small bite of food. Start savoring and stop shoveling.

    Love M!

  5. Janice says:

    Nice! My challenge this week is to not snack after dinner. My favorite nighttime snack is vanilla ice cream with some chocolate syrup and walnuts. Oh no! Now I really want some ice cream…this is going to be a tough challenge!

  6. Perry S. says:

    Hmmm, I think a good challenge would be to reduce your mile time by 30 seconds over the course of a month. Set specific time goals to meet every week and steadily make you way down to your desired time. Working your way down incrementally will make this challenging goal possible.

  7. My challenge has been finding useful things to do that burn calories, on the days I can’t get to the gym. Since finding out that mowing my lawn burns 270 calories… it has never been so well kept 🙂

  8. Angela says:

    My challenge is to jump rope for at least 15 minutes each day while watching my tv shows. I can watch a show that I love while exercising in the comfort of my air-conditioned apartment.

  9. India says:

    My challenge this week is to pick one day to eat only fruits and vegetables and drink only water.

  10. Kathleen Cleveland says:

    My challenge is to do sprints for 30 minutes 2x’s each week in addition to my regular workouts!

  11. Kath says:

    Lately I have been challenging myself to run longer than my norm. I don’t want to get stuck in my 3-mile routine…so I’ve been pushing myself harder to see how much farther I can go. This weekend I ran a 4 mile loop, and yesterday I set out to do two 3-mile loops (one in the morning and one at night). I think increasing your mileage, whether it’s 1 or 10 miles extra, each week would be a wonderful way to “level up” !! It’d definitely keep me motivated to continue running and find better ways to challenge myself!

  12. Danielle says:

    Not much time for exercise due to long work hours? Don’t forget to use the stairs instead of the elevator

  13. jehaine says:

    I have been challenging myself to find constructive things to do around the house that burn calories, on the days I can’t make it to the gym. Now that I know mowing my lawn burns 270 calories, it is far more well kept 🙂

  14. Ericke says:

    Let’s see.. my challenge would be to take a 20 min walk in the middle of the workday for a month. I always promise myself to get up from the desk once in awhile, but never can kick the habit. Taking a walk in the middle of the day is a great way to rejuvenate thyself.

  15. cindy says:

    Let’s see.. my challenge would be to take a 20 min walk in the middle of the workday for a month. I always promise myself to get up from the desk once in awhile, but never can kick the habit. Taking a walk in the middle of the day is a great way to rejuvenate thyself.

  16. Jessi says:

    My challenge is food and meal planning! I find when I plan it out then it´s easy to stay healthy but when I don´t, thats when I get into trouble.

  17. Rsim says:

    If you have a desk job, my challenge would be to pick a number and make sure you stand up/sit down that many times each day. If you haven’t reached that number by the end of the day, you would have to stand/sit that many times quickly before you can leave work.

  18. A-uncfan says:

    Drink pineapple juice 15 minutes before you eat. This raises your blood sugar level and allows you to feel full (satisfied) on a smaller meal portion. Remember to eat only til full. “Clean plate” club is not worth joining if it makes you eat too large of portions. Hopefully this will help you reduce your portions at mealtimes.

  19. CarolinaMB says:

    I will share some of my personal tips that they have worked for me.
    Reducing the amount of fat each day in your meals will reduce your calorie intake drastically.
    Try to reduce the amount of carbohydrates at dinner time, eat fruit and cereal, granola or even boiled eggs (70 cal each egg!).
    I use Truvia or Splenda instead of regular sugar.
    Most importantly: You could do Zumba at least 3 times a week, it is fun, you’ll do cardio and will burn the excess of body fat given that you follow my previous two tips!!
    **Lastly if you are craving for a burger do not put cheese on it (150 calories less!!)**

  20. […] today is the last day to enter the slow cooker giveaway! Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterest This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged mint, smoothie, […]

  21. Ashley says:

    My challenge is to wake up earlier before work and run. It is a great start to the day and you feel so much more awake at work!

  22. Kim says:

    Two super tips, easily incorporated into anyone’s daily routine, are to eat breakfast early every morning, and to drink lots and lots of water… even when you don’t think you are thirsty. This helps to cut down tremendously on any cravings or hunger pangs.

    When having a sandwich, pile lots of fresh veggies on whole wheat. Spice it up with a little mustard. Skip the lunch meats and cheese. Very satisfying!

    When walking the dog, double the route that you normally take. The dog will be happy and your body will too!

  23. Kalyn says:

    My challenge is to completely cut out soda and stop eating out so much.

  24. Jennie says:

    Drat is it too late to enter?

    My healthy tip:
    Run at least three days a week until you sweat (for me it’s around 15-25 min), do the 100 pushup challenge, and do as many pullups as you can! I found that this keeps me in shape and keeps me sane when I am stressed out with school/work. I also found that even after I stop doing these exercises, my muscle memory lets me get back into them, although I’m never as good at them as I am when I have been exercising for weeks.

    The best part is that it’s not a huge time commitment. I’d say, max 3 to 3.5 hours a week 🙂

Leave a Reply

