Bitter Melon with Eggs

I think I have always loved bitter foods. I eat grapefruit and dark chocolate at least weekly (more so the dark chocolate than grapefruit), and I like the bite of bitterness.

Bitter melon is just that, very bitter. It is definitely an acquired taste, and is not something that everyone will enjoy. But if you are interested in trying new things, I would give bitter melon a chance!Β I bought four smallish melons at the farmer’s market for one dollar, so it’s not much of an investment if you don’t end up liking it. According to the vendor at the farmer’s market, the white variety is much less bitter than the green. Β I also read that parboiling the vegetable before using in a recipe can cut down on the bitterness.

I used the Chinese variety in this recipe, because that is what I ate growing up. My grandma would most often saute the melon slices in eggs and soy sauce, like in this recipe. We would either eat it over rice, or just plain. I took some pictures of the final dish, but they really don’t look too appetizing. So instead of posting them, I am sharing photos of the cutting and pith removal process which will hopefully be helpful for people who are new to the vegetable.

Chinese Bitter Melon with Eggs

serves 4 (side dish)

2 medium bitter melon

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 tbsp and 1 tsp of soy sauce

4 eggs

Directions:

Cut the melon in half lengthwise. Remove the pith and seeds. Slice the melon into crescents about 1/8 in thick.

Saute the melon on medium heat with the oil for 5 minutes.

Scramble the eggs with soy sauce. Pour the egg mixture into the pan. Stir and flip the mixture until the eggs are cooked (3-5 minutes). Serve over rice or on it’s own!

10 comments on “Bitter Melon with Eggs

  1. Kath says:

    this looks really interesting…I am dying to try it πŸ™‚

  2. Lovely! Very different from how I have grown up eating it, but this sounds great as well.

  3. Food Stories says:

    Very interesting … thx for sharing all the details πŸ™‚

  4. tartarsandteacups says:

    Still looks funky. But not as funky as the gifts from Russia sitting in a bag with a skirt that you need to get your hands on πŸ˜‰

  5. […] grandma over is eating her delicious food. [side note: she was so impressed that I knew how to cook bitter melon]. However on Sunday, my mom took over the cooking for a Mexican/Colombian/American […]

  6. […] me, or generally teach me more about food. I am always up for trying something new, and even the weirdest looking vegetables don’t scare me […]

Leave a Reply

