Watermelon Mint Smoothie

I hope everyone had an enjoyable weekend!

Some friends and I headed to Carowinds on Saturday and rode lots of roller coasters! I love pretty much any thrilling activity, and cant get enough of the feeling of my stomach flipping over. My favorite ride was probably the Intimidator,  it was long, smooth ride with lots of drops. We were able to get in the front car for one ride, which was so awesome! The weather was perfect for being outside all day, and the thunder clouds stayed away until just after we left.

On Sunday I played around with the following recipe a bit in order to get the best ratio of watermelon, yogurt, and mint. I love this simple flavor combination; it is so fresh and light. The watermelon I bought was incredibly sweet and juicy, so I did not need to add any extra sweetener.

Watermelon Mint Smoothie

makes 20 oz

1 cup of watermelon, seeded and cubed

1/4 cup of vanilla yogurt

a couple drops of peppermint extract

stevia, to taste

Directions: Freeze the watermelon cubes. Blend all the ingredients together.

This was one instance in which my Magic Bullet was not adequately powerful to blend the frozen cubes of watermelon. I defrosted the cubes in the microwave for about 30 seconds which was sufficient to soften

Also, today is the last day to enter the slow cooker giveaway!

6 comments on “Watermelon Mint Smoothie

  1. Ooh that sounds delicious and a good way to eat watermelon. 🙂 Glad you had fun on the rollercoasters!

  2. thelady8home says:

    I love rollercoasters, but I have Vertigo and motion sickness – a deadly combination for riding roller coasters 😦 I still have given them a try once in a while. But my world keeps spinning long after I have come off the cars.

    That smoothie is SO delish. I love watermelons in all forms. Add some mint, yummmmmm!!!

  3. Food Stories says:

    This looks so light & refreshing … love the addition of the yogurt 🙂

    • recimplicity says:

      It is so light! I tried making it without yogurt, but the texture was more like an icee than a smoothie. It was still good, but this is more drinkable I think

Leave a Reply

