Half Marathon Training

Since I am currently four weeks into my (first) half marathon training, I thought it would be a good time to check in and talk about how it is going so far.

 source

Currently, I complete most of my workouts in the morning before work, with the exception of my long runs which I do on Sunday afternoons. So far I have been staying inside in the gym for pretty much all the runs.

source

It’s funny because I used to hate running on the treadmill and could never motivate myself to stay on for very long, but over the past couple of months I have really grown to appreciate it as a training tool. Manipulating the speed on the treadmill is a helpful to help me increase my pace and to become more aware of my speed in general. Running in the gym is also very convenient. I don’t have to worry about the weather, water, my keys, or getting lost.

Despite the benefits of being indoors, I do miss running outside.

source

The treadmill can make me feel like a hamster, going nowhere fast. I often have to watch Sports Center for at least 30 minutes, which gets old really fast because the show seems to be on a ten minute loop. When I am outdoors, the changing scenery keeps me interested and hills challenge my heart and lungs. The main reason I don’t run outside now is that I am still finding my way around the area, and have gotten lost every time I run in neighborhoods.

I really need a GPS attached to my wrist! I usually see a cool road or place I want to explore, so I decide to go down the road “just a little ways” and end up running rather far away. Instead of retracing my path, I reason that there must be a quicker route back to the main road and then with only a few turns, I am totally unsure of my current location and have to ask for directions from someone sleepily picking up their newspaper from the driveways.

This week I am going to resist the urge to explore and stay on my predetermined path in hopes of getting some solid running time outside.

I hope you all enjoy all the random images πŸ™‚ I rediscovered pinterest last night and went a little crazy.

Pinned Image

source

11 comments on “Half Marathon Training

  1. Great post! The treadmill is a handy tool to test a faster pace or to train your self to run at a certain pace. And it is convenient in any weather condition. If you can join a local running club that may also help with motivation and make running much more fun.
    I do enjoy catching the news or a baseball game while running on the treadmill. I am always trying to multi task. It’s a bad habit I need to work on.
    Your blog looks great also!

    • recimplicity says:

      Definitely! I really want one of those GPS/heart monitor watches, so I could pace myself while outdoors but the treadmill is working for now! Thanks for visiting πŸ™‚

  2. Inga says:

    Great post. I love my Garmin Forerunner 405. I have had it for several years now and it is so motivating! Have you tried plus3network? You can upload your routes directly from the garmin and then see them on a calendar. Plus you cannot get lost because it will direct you back to your start point. >^..^<

    • recimplicity says:

      I want a Garmin soo bad! I haven’t heard of the plus3network, I’ll have to check it out πŸ™‚

      • Inga says:

        +3 is just a bit of extra motivation. You choose a cause and a sponsor and then all your workouts benefit your cause. I love it and I am so grateful to the companies who sponsor this way! >^..^<

  3. Is there a running group that you could meet up with so you can learn the local running routes? It would be fun because you could meet new people too. I use the TM a lot during the winter when it snows too much to get outside. I used to also hate it, but now I love it. The longest run I have done on my TM is 22 miles. Thankfully I have my own at home so that wasn’t completed at the gym. Good luck with the rest of your training.

  4. tartarsandteacups says:

    When I ran crosscountry we had a saying “If the hill has a name, then it must be a pretty tough hill”. . Some lady said it. But it’s a good one! Certain courses and routes had hills with names for them… some not always PG13 πŸ˜‰

  5. what a great post! i love the murphy’s law of running — so true!!!!

  6. loramarie03 says:

    Kudos to you for treadmill training!! Definitely not my thing haha. Do you use runningmap.com? I love using that to figure out my paths when I’m in a strange area. πŸ™‚

  7. thelady8home says:

    What a motivating post Erin! I need to get back to my exercise routine. I don’t know why, but just can’t seem to find enough motivation. I must must must….

Leave a Reply

