Vegan Pancakes

I am a huge breakfast person. I love pretty much every possible breakfast food, and will eat breakfast foods at any time. Of course, my favorite is definitely oatmeal (I actually brought some overnight oats for lunch yesterday), but pancakes take a close second.

Well, technically pancakes are tied for second with eggs and bacon. The competition is rather fierce.

Regardless, I have been on a serious pancake kick this week. In five days, I have made pancakes four times. With all of this experience, I have crafted my favorite vegan pancake recipe. They are vegan mostly because I have run out of eggs and am procrastinating grocery shopping (thus why I made oatmeal for lunch).

I decided to use all whole wheat flour for this recipe (instead of half and half with white flour), and the pancakes are still light and fluffy! But if you are not a fan of heartier pancakes, I would use a blend of white and wheat flours. I am weird and top my pancakes with heaps of applesauce and greek yogurt, drizzled with maple syrup; which should explain the pictures.

Vegan Pancakes

makes 4 pancakes

2/3 cup whole wheat flour

1 T baking soda

1/8 t salt

1 packet stevia

2/3 cup+ 2 T almond milk

1 T coconut oil, melted

Directions: Mix and sift the dry ingredients. In another bowl, whisk together the milk and oil, and pour onto the dry. Stir until just combined. Heat and lightly oil a large frying pan. Scoop about 1/4 cup of batter onto the pan. Cook until brown on both sides and serve warm.

6 comments on “Vegan Pancakes

  1. I’m always on a pancake kick!! lol 😉 My fav or chocolate chip. Great recipe!

  2. I’m with you, breakfast is the most important meal of the day!

  3. thelady8home says:

    Great recipe Erin!

  4. Food Stories says:

    These look great with the greek yogurt & applesauce topping 🙂

  5. loramarie03 says:

    I love love love pancakes!! I always eat mine with peanut butter! 🙂

  6. […] I decided to opt out of the pancakes, since I have been eating them all week in order to test my vegan pancake […]

Leave a Reply

