Workout to Work Ponytails

Today I am blogging from a hotel room on my first business trip!! I am so excited to get out of the office for a couple of days and meet some clients 🙂

As I transition into the working world, I am realizing how important those extra minutes of sleep can be on the week days. In college, I could stay up late or get up early, and then take a nap or realize after classes. However, at work I need to be well rested and alert all day long.

Exercising in the mornings has definitely helped me wake up in the mornings and gets me going before heading to work. I love feeling like I have already accomplished something before 8! One downisde is that I have to be very efficient in showering and getting ready in order to maximize my sleep time. I do the normal things like prepare my lunch, pick out clothes, and pack my bag. But the biggest time saver for me is putting my hair in a ponytail or bun. This way I don’t have to bother with drying, straightening/curling, or hair spraying in the morning. These are my three favorites:

All of these styles work great with wet hair, and can be done in minutes! I think they look better with longer hair, but I can still get my shoulder-length locks into presentable ponytails. My sister, Claire, graciously let me use her long hair for demonstration purposes. This is my first hair related post, so if anything is unclear please please let me know 🙂

1. Twist: Pull hair into side part. Grab a section close to the center, and start twisting away from face. Incorporate sections of hair as you twist.

Then use a bobby pin to pin the end of twist to secure it behind the ear.

Pull your hair into a ponytail as normal.

2. French Braid: Pull hair back without a part and french braid down the middle of your head.

Braid until you reach the nape of the neck.

Secure the ponytail with an elastic.

3. Fish Tail: Make a low, loose ponytail and create a separation in the middle.

Flip the ponytail inside the separation toward your head and pull through.

Tighten the ponytail to hide the hair tie.

Any other tips to get out the door in the mornings?

6 comments on “Workout to Work Ponytails

  1. I love all of those hairstyles. I do the twist a lot because it is super easy and if needed I can pull it together at a stop light. 🙂
    I like to have all of my stuff layed the night before so if I do happen to be running behind in the morning I don’t have to feel to panicked.

  2. thelady8home says:

    What a lovely post Erin! I have always loved french braid, though I can never successfully braid on my own.

  3. loramarie03 says:

    I am going to have to try the twist — it looks like it’s a hard one to put together! I have stopped blow drying my hair in the summer since our apartment is wayy too hot for A/C. I just brush it and let it dry on my way to work. 🙂 I also multitask when I brush my teeth… put on my shoes, pack my bag, etc.

  4. Food Stories says:

    Erin … What a great post. In fact, I feel like I wrote it because I do all of that (except the exercising part). I don’t have time to futz with my hair before work so I put it up in a bun while it’s wet and get out the door 🙂

Leave a Reply

