Mocha Berry Smoothie

I have been a smoothie fanatic these past couple of weeks. The mixture of the blazing hot weather and the fact that I can take breakfast on my way to work, has definitely added to the appeal of smoothies. I usually make 3-4 each week, and try to vary the flavors a little bit each day. My regular rotation of flavors include: bananas, peanut butter, cocoa powder, and coffee. If I want something a little heartier, I will also throw in some oatmeal or spinach. Every once and a while I will try a new combination. Sometimes it’s not a combination I would ever replicate: banana chocolate coffee-I thought it sounded good, but it wasn’t! And occasionally it is delicious enough to make again and again. Until I realize that I really should blog about my success! Today’s flavor is Mocha (blue)Berry, and it is perfect as a fruity treat with a little caffeine kick!

  

 

Coffee is becoming more of a smoothie staple as I become addicted to caffeine (I blame the K cup machine in the office), but I rarely want to sit down and drink a cup of coffee. I usually workout in the mornings, and freshly brewed coffee does not help me cool down and stop sweating enough to put on make up. However, I have gotten in the habit of turning off the warmer and letting the java cool while I work out and shower. When I am ready to make my smoothie before heading out the door, the coffee is room temperature and great as a smoothie addition. Obviously if I had an espresso machine I would use it in a heartbeat, but coffee is working just fine for now! I actually got the idea for this flavor combination from a coworker who ordered a raspberry mocha from Starbucks (on the sad sad day that the K cup machine broke). I sampled his drink and was surprised how well the coffee and berries blended.

Mocha Berry Smoothie

makes 16 oz

3/4 cup cooled coffee

3/4 cup almond milk

1 cup frozen blueberries

1 scoop protein powder

Pour the liquids and blueberries into the blender. Top with protein powder and blend until smooth!

***No camera yet, so Flickr pictures will have to suffice for a while!

10 comments on “Mocha Berry Smoothie

  1. Do you find that smoothies keep you full? I always want to do them for breakfast but find that I’m hungry like an hour later. 🙂

    • recimplicity says:

      ha no, they don’t keep me full at all! But I honestly eat every two hours anyways 🙂 I usually have a protein bar at around 10, which keeps me satisfied until lunch, which keeps me full until afternoon snack…etc 😉

  2. Inga says:

    HAHA I tried banana-cacao-coffee too, nasty, wasn’t it? >^..^<

  3. I am obsessed with smoothies. Thanks for sharing this recipe. 🙂

  4. Food Stories says:

    Oh no … So sorry the banana chocolate coffee combo didn’t work out 😦

    By the way, I use this protein powder called Click that has espresso in it … http://foodstoriesblog.com/2012/03/02/click-espresso-protein-shake/

    • recimplicity says:

      I have heard about Click, but haven’t tried it yet. I have just found a protein powder that I really like (the Whole Foods brand whey powder) and am reluctant to try anything new because they usually come in such big containers.
      Do you like it?

      • Food Stories says:

        I love the click and drink it most work day … Personally, I think it would be worth the risk to try it 🙂

  5. Hannah says:

    Oh, I’m sorry that the banana-cocoa-coffee combo didn’t work for you–I do it all the time! Maybe you should try playing with the ratios again.

Leave a Reply

