Pina Colada Smoothie

source

I have another great smoothie recipe to share with you all today! It combines two of my favorite tropical fruits: pineapple and coconut. The pineapple provides lots of natural sweetness, and the coconut milk adds a thick, creamy texture. Think of it as a virgin pina colada…. with protein powder.

This is a more high-calorie smoothies than I usually featured, and would not be helpful for those of you looking to lose some weight. The coconut milk contains a lot of fat (which is why it is soo delicious). If you want to slim this recipe down a little bit, substituting coconut water for the milk would still provide a subtle coconut flavor without all the calories. Coconut water is a great source of hydration, and is packed with potassium. However, I personally do not love the taste and somewhat slimy quality of coconut water. I will be sticking with my fatty coconut smoothie or nothing at all 😉

Pina Colada Smoothie

1/4 cup coconut milk

3/4 cup water

1 banana, frozen

1/4 cup cubed pineapple, frozen

1 scoop protein powder

Add the liquids and then the solids to a blend. Blend until smooth.

source

***In case you were desperately wondering when my camera will arrive as much as I am (which I’m guessing no one is), it officially left Miami yesterday at 6pm. I will be continually refreshing USPS in search of its latest location!

3 comments on “Pina Colada Smoothie

  1. Lovely and refreshing!! I love pina coladas – cocktail, mocktail, with tail, without tail…..

  2. That combines my two favorite tropical fruits too. Sounds pretty tasty!

  3. This is such a refreshing and my all time favorite drink. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

